More Awesome Standard Fan-Art!

February 12, 2013

ONE MORE SLEEP!  The Standard #1 hits comic shop shelves tomorrow, and was featured on The Comics Run, IGN’s weekly rundown of the most exciting comics releases of the coming week.  But before the big day comes, let’s take a moment to appreciate a couple of brilliant pieces of Standard fan-art sent my way recently.

First up is this fab offering from my old friend James Fairlie.  Jamie is one of my oldest friends, and was actually the first person to know anything about The Standard: the first person to ever see my first draft of the first issue script, and the guy I’d send each issue script along to for feedback before passing it on to my editor.  Indeed, to this day, Jamie is the only person in the world – aside from editor Steven Forbes and myself – who knows how The Standard ends!  Jamie has drawn up a mock Silver Age cover chronicling The Standard’s early adventures, featuring one of my fave characters from the series, The Skunk!

StandardSilverAgeCover

You may also want to check out the sanity-crushing cartoon animated by Mr. Fairlie, and voiced by the both of us:

The other piece of artwork I received in the mail comes from the incomparable Iain Laurie, the amazing artist of the likes of Roachwell, Mothwicke and Horror Mountain whose work I’ve already gushed over at length here and elsewhere.  He drew up this excellent poster-style image of The Standard (old and new) and something monstrous lurking in the background.

IainLaurieStandard2

As always, fantastic work from Iain.  I’m going to be working with Mr. Laurie on a new project this year, which I’m very much looking forward to!

As always, if you want to draw up any pictures of The Standard or his supporting cast, send them along to thestandardcomic@gmail.com and I’ll feature them up on the blog.  Thanks again!

Leave a comment